General Hi-Lo camper discussion The perfect place to discuss your Hi-Lo camper
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 07-16-2013, 05:22 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 38
Default likely cause for AC problem

The AC of the 93 Funlite had stopped working when I returned from work a couple of days ago. There is no power at the 30 Amp outlet in the back of the trailer when checked with a multimeter, and the red reset button will not stay down. The converter box under the bed is still humming and fridge and 110 outlets have power. The 12V lights are fine as well. The 30 Amp green fuse at the converter is not tripped. I haven't yet checked continuity of the cable between converter and outlet. What is likely to be the problem? Thank you for any ideas from the more experienced!

Chris
__________________

czwieb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2013, 05:53 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Upper left corner
Posts: 527
Default

Chris,

It may be a bad GFCI outlet. I had a similar thing happen to an outlet at home. I replaced the outlet and it has worked OK since.
__________________

__________________
Raul

2408T
2010 Nissan Frontier, 4x4, Crew Cab
Norton Rider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2013, 06:19 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 38
Default

I was considering the GFCI. But there is no power going into the receptacle. /Chris
czwieb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2013, 06:44 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
PappaP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Arizona
Posts: 180
Default

First question, are you saying that the AC trips when you turn on power and the reset button will not stay engaged on the outlet, or is there no power even supplied to the outlet that supply's power to the AC power cord?

If there is no power supplied to the outlet then you would need to trace the lost point of connection by doing a continuity check as you were thinking already.

If you have power supplied to the outlet then I would agree with Norton that you have a bad GFCI.

Can't quite remember from off the top of my head but I thought there was a seperate breaker for the AC power outlet and not supplied from the convertor. I thought the convertor is for conversion of the 110V to 12vdc.
__________________
PappaP
Former Owner of a 1999 Classic HiLo Model 29B
PappaP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2013, 07:01 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 38
Default

There is no power going to the outlet. There is a 30 Amp fuse switch at the converter box which I assume (meaning that I don't know :-) is for the AC.If there is a separate fuse for the AC, I would love to know where...

Best,

Chris
czwieb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2013, 08:30 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Wrascal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Lower Alabama (LA)
Posts: 542
Default I don't comprehend what you're explaining

but my Air Cond. has it's own/ separate circuit breaker in the main panel (which is separate from the converter box). That breaker provides power to the "special" ground fault outlet that the air cond. plugs into.

As I see things ...
Unplug the air cond. power cord from that outlet then a cycle on/off/on the applicable circuit breaker (#2 in my setup) in your main box. Does your unused ground fault still trip? If so it really sounds like its defective. If it trips after you plug in the air cond. then the air cond. is creating the problem.

At least that's my thinking without being there to see things for myself.
__________________
2014 Ford F250 6.7 PS
formerly a HiLo TD2401
now an 08 Jayco Eagle
Wrascal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2013, 08:33 PM   #7
Moderator
 
RichR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: NW PA
Posts: 2,461
Default

I think the AC outlet is a a standard 20 amp receptacle, that is the pin configuration is that of a 20 amp which will take both 15 and 20 amp plugs. Plug something else in there to see how it works.
__________________
My Great Wife Joyce
2010 2310H Hi-Lo
2012 F150 4X4 SuperCrew EcoBoost w/Leer Cap
Reese WD Strait-Line Hitch
Amateur Radio K3EXU
RichR is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2013, 09:16 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 38
Default

ok, maybe these two pictures will help. One shows the box under the bed (is this the converter?), the other the plug (right-angled contacts) for the AC in the back of the trailer. I have confirmed with a multimeter that no power goes into this outlet. Other standard 110V outlets have power and the 12V lights are working. This is a 93 FunLite. Thank you all for helping with this problem!

Best,

Chris
Attached Images
File Type: jpg under-bed.jpg (14.3 KB, 35 views)
File Type: jpg in-the-back.jpg (49.8 KB, 31 views)
czwieb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2013, 10:12 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Wrascal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Lower Alabama (LA)
Posts: 542
Default terrible first photo

but it looks like the circuit breaker box (tipped on its side?) which is NOT a converter. When working properly, and if all the breakers in this box are on AND you otherwise have ac power THEN you should have power to the special outlet.

If not, as you indicate, then either the supplying breaker is bad or the wiring to the outlet is pinched (shorting out). If as you indicate (the ground fault is tripping) then I'd suspect the pinched wire is the culprit AND/OR AGAIN SUSPECT THE GROUND FAULT OUTLET IS BAD. That'd be the cheapest and easiest thing to do. Replace it and then continue trouble-shooting.

I'm assuming nothing is plugged into this outlet during these tests.

The converter takes one of these breaker box power feeds into yet another box and CONVERTS it to a 12 volt power source to supply low voltage needs.
__________________
2014 Ford F250 6.7 PS
formerly a HiLo TD2401
now an 08 Jayco Eagle
Wrascal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2013, 10:26 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Wrascal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Lower Alabama (LA)
Posts: 542
Default Duh ... safety first.

If you don't feel comfortable doing this then don't because it could kill ya. Totally un-power the camper.

Now, if you don't want to spend a few bucks on a new outlet in this experiment then simply remove it. Keeps all wires separate & labeled (for reassembly) and then re-power the camper. Use meter to again test the bare wires for power.

If you now have power there then that confirms outlet is bad. If still no power then look for wiring problem.
__________________

__________________
2014 Ford F250 6.7 PS
formerly a HiLo TD2401
now an 08 Jayco Eagle
Wrascal is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
HiLoTrailerForum.com Copyright 2010