Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Hi-Lo camper travel trailer forum > Hi-Lo Community Forums > General Hi-Lo camper discussion
Click Here to Login
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

General Hi-Lo camper discussion The perfect place to discuss your Hi-Lo camper

Old 09-24-2011, 07:15 AM   #1

Red face vintage homenade "hi-lo"

I just bought a homemade 1964 travel trailer that is very similar to a hi-lo. PO thinks it was made by a man who used to work for hi-lo and though I am new to hi-los, it looks much like the 60s hi-los I have found photos of online. Since it is homemade our "owner's manual" consists of a 1 typewritten list of instructions on how to raise and lower the camper. We want to replace the cables as one of our first projects and I am hoping to find some info about that--what cable to use, do you replace the cable when the trailer is in the hi or lo position, how do you determine the correct cable length, etc. Any info would be appreciated. BTW, I also own a 1964 Airstream and am hoping this forum will welcome me anyway.

64roadie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2011, 01:09 PM   #2

Send a message via Yahoo to thermonieum

do you think he sort of picked it up one piece at a time like the song????

98 Jeep Cherokee
01 Explorer Sport Trac
thermonieum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2011, 05:50 PM   #3

Default vintage homemade sorta hi-lo

Could be! I have no idea and am glad of it--the less I know about that, the better. I believe I am the 4th owner. It is in such good shape and the hi-los are a really cool trailer. I would like to keep this vintage camper on the road. Can anyone out there help me figure out the cable repair issue and how to replace the gasket between the two halves?
Old 09-25-2011, 05:27 PM   #4

Send a message via Yahoo to thermonieum