Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

General Hi-Lo camper discussion The perfect place to discuss your Hi-Lo camper

Old 09-06-2014, 10:16 AM   #1

Default WD hitches and tongue weight

Ok I am a trailer newbie that has done a ton of reading but still have questions. I have a small tow vehicle, 2013 Ford Escape and am planning on towing a 2010 1810h. I know I am pushing weight restrictions but I had the trailer weighed and without water and cargo it comes in at 2600 instead of 3000 listed in brochure.

My question is my Ford Escape is listed at 350 lb limit on tongue weight but I have a class iii recevier and am adding a wd hitch. Does that change my tongue weight limits. It seems the wd hitch mitigates some of the tongue weight concerns.

JoyNoelle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2014, 10:27 AM   #2

Send a message via Yahoo to RCREYES

Quote:
Originally Posted by JoyNoelle View Post
Ok I am a trailer newbie that has done a ton of reading but still have questions. I have a small tow vehicle, 2013 Ford Escape and am planning on towing a 2010 1810h. I know I am pushing weight restrictions but I had the trailer weighed and without water and cargo it comes in at 2600 instead of 3000 listed in brochure.

My question is my Ford Escape is listed at 350 lb limit on tongue weight but I have a class iii recevier and am adding a wd hitch. Does that change my tongue weight limits. It seems the wd hitch mitigates some of the tongue weight concerns.
Check your owners manual. My truck lists a different weight when using a WDH. It also has the same info on the hitch itself.

http://prodcontent.s3.amazonaws.com/...wGuide2013.pdf

RCREYES is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2014, 12:23 PM   #3