Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Hydraulic lift system Hydraulic, mechanical and electrical components of the lift system

Old 08-13-2012, 11:03 PM   #1

Default Hydraulic system troubles

I own a 1994 Voyager and having problems with the hydraulic system when raising. I replaced the battery earlier this summer and added ATF fluid. The upper body starts to lift and then just stops raising and pump stops. Yet there are times when I have no problems. I am new to this, any ideas what I should be looking at? Frustrated.

Eguerrero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2012, 06:03 AM   #2

Send a message via AIM to PopRichie77

Are you keeping the battery fully charged? The lift pump requires a fully charged battery to work. The battery will only lift around a half dozen times and then it needs to be charged. The solenoid on the pump could be going bad. You could also have a loose wire, and the master switch has to be in the right position.

(2209T) - 2009 22' TowLite
(2510 ) - 2010 25'
PopRichie77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2012, 09:23 AM   #3

Rich may be right but also could be a circuit breaker going bad. There are small circuit breakers aprox 1" square in the system. Some may be manual reset and newer ones are auto reset after cooling down. If going bad a auto reset one will trip at a lower amp load then reset after cooling. These are standard auto CB,s and you can get them at any auto parts store, cheap.
2017 Silvarado, crew cab 1500 6.2L gas w/ 8 speed tranny
central VA
JIM L is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2012, 10:01 PM   #4

PopRichie77 & Jim L,
Thanks for the info. I will these suggestions and put them to work. Once again thank you very much.
Eguerrero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2015, 08:17 PM   #5

Thumbs up 1999 HiLo