Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 04-22-2013, 08:43 AM   #1

Default Carlisle Tire Experience

Hi,

I'm about to replace the tires in my 2408T. I'm looking for feedback on Carlisle Radial Trail RH trailer tires. Do any of you have experience with these tires? How do they compare with Goodyear Marathons?

Raul

Norton Rider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2013, 10:58 AM   #2
Site Team

I have no experience with Carlisle, but have read numerous posts in other trailer forums that say they are not a good buy. Also, the guy I talked to at Discount Tire did not like them.

My personal experience with Goodyear Marathons was bad. Both OEM tires failed due to cord separation in about two years with about 5000 miles on them. I've posted on this experience in this forum.

My tire of choice now is Maxxis M8008 ST Radial. I was able to mount an 8-ply rated tire in the OEM size (before I had my axle moved) and I've had excellent service with this tire.

- Jack

Old 04-22-2013, 11:30 AM   #3

My 85 had mixed sets when purchased.
It now has Carlisle all around and did a 8k mile trip last year with no problems.
There are poly ply and steel ply, for a little more. I have the steel due to weight. The Goodyear were another $50/ more.

My trip included 4k miles of southern US which, other than Florida, seemed to have very poor condition roads.
LA. Ala and Miss were the worst roads I have driven on in many years, in particular interstate 10.

steve
kd7ctk
renoites is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2013, 03:38 PM   #4

Send a message via AIM to PopRichie77

I had bad experience with marathons on the 95 but the marathons on the 2209 have over 25,000 miles on them with no problems. The marathons on the 2209 have a extra nylon ply in them, which may be the reason for longer life.
(2209T) - 2009 22' TowLite
(2510 ) - 2010 25'
PopRichie77 is offline   Reply With Quote