Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 03-25-2011, 05:30 PM   #1

Default Chocks

My driveway is rather steep so I've been using blocks in front of all four wheels. Even so I have been very nervous that if is some how broke loose during a storm or earthquake it would end up on my neighbors roof. So, while ordering my new McKesh towing mirrors I also ordered an "Ultimate Tire Scissor Chock" from Hensley Mfg. for $35.00 plus shipping. As you can see from the image is jams between the tires making it impossible for them to roll. I expect to sleep better now!
Attached Images
File Type: jpg DSCN0975.jpg (97.7 KB, 61 views)
File Type: jpg DSCN0976.jpg (96.8 KB, 51 views)

2007-22T TowLite 50th Anniversary
2008 Nissan Frontier SE 4X4 Crew Cab, Snug Top
NDgent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2011, 07:26 PM   #2

John,

I've been using these things for several years now... mostly for longer term camping when I really wanted to take all the "rock," out of the Hi-Lo, or if I was camped on enough of a slope that I didn't want to rely on conventional chocks alone.

But where they REALLY became essential was this last fall when we had the door-side double flat. When jacking up the afflicted side I found the whole set-up very unstable until I installed the scissor chock. Being able to lock those other two wheels, so there was NO possibility of rolling or shifting, made all the difference. I was on a slight side and down slope (the gravel road margin), and had to disconnect the TV to take the trailer wheels in for new tires.

Bottom line: Your new scissor chock can also act as emergency equipment!

Good buy!
Jim

2015 Chevy Tahoe LTZ
JMDoering is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2011, 07:33 AM   #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by JMDoering View Post
John,

But where they REALLY became essential was this last fall when we had the door-side double flat.
Jim