Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

HVAC, Appliances and Propane Systems Heating, Air Conditioning, Refrigerator, stove, propane systems and more.

Old 04-19-2010, 01:09 AM   #1

Default Air Conditioner DOA

Hi all. I just purchased a 2009 22T and took it out this weekend for the first time. Everything works fine except the AC unit. Nothing works on it. It is a Duo-Therm by Dometic, 600 series Penguin. The unit calls for 115VAC, 60Hz, 1PH. I was hooked up to the RV park power which was 120VAC (not sure of freq. or phase). I tried resetting the circuit breaker which did not work.

Does anybody know if I need a fuse with this unit? I saw no mention of it in the manual.

Any suggestions of what may be wrong or how to troubleshoot? I'm a complete electrical novice so please be specific.

Thanks!

claucXC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2010, 07:45 AM   #2

Please don't take this offensively, but did you plug the A/C unit in in the back of the trailer? You have no fan, no nothing? Were you plugged into 30 amp service? I assume you are under warranty.

RichR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2010, 10:19 AM   #3

claucXC -

RichR made a good point, I must admit that I made that very same mistake. However, assuming that the Air Conditioner was plugged in, plugging the Air conditioner directly into an extension cord (14AWG or larger), this will tell you if there is something wrong with the wiring that is feeding the AC unit thats causing the problem.

Neal
Old 04-19-2010, 11:18 AM   #4

Thanks for the input guys. I just tried plugging the trailer in at home and still nothing.