Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Travel and Adventure Road trips, great camping spots and trip planning. Share your camping adventures, recommendations and pictures.

Old 07-07-2017, 06:04 PM   #1

Default 6,500 mile HiLo Trip

My wife and I, along with our dog and cat, just completed a 6,500 mile round trip from the Pacific Northwest to the Gulf Coast with our 22' HiLo and I thought I would share some observations and questions. The HiLo is a 2006 model, but new to us. We purchased it this spring and had completed one shakedown trip before setting out for the Gulf Coast. Our tow vehicle is a 2005 Ford Expedition which has, at the completion of the trip, over 119,000 miles. In terms of RV experience we are fairly inexperienced, but not complete novices. We own a cruising sailboat and spent 4 years on it in Mexico. We also drove a 37' Winnebago from Mazatlan to Portland OR. As a kid I camped with my parents in everything from a surplus WWII tent to a fifth wheel.

At the suggestion of a friend we installed a weight distribution (no anti sway) hitch. We had previously towed a 7,500 lb boat and trailer from Portland to the Gulf Coast without a weight distribution hitch. The HiLo towed better than the boat and trailer but I am not sure it is because of the hitch. The hitch didn't get in our way, but I'm not sure I needed it. The HiLo presented absolutely no tow problems. In deference to the age and mileage of our tow vehicle we kept our speed to 65 mph. When we needed to go faster we were able to do so without problem. Our gas mileage was somewhere between 11 and 12 mpg.