Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

General Repairs, Modifications, Tips and tricks Show off your modifications, share a great idea, ask a question!

Old 03-10-2010, 07:06 AM   #1

Default Levels

I decided to add a couple of levels on the outside of our Hi-Lo to aid us in setting up the camper. I've never done this before so I just came up with my own method for it and there may be a better way.

I figured I needed to start by getting the camper level so I pulled it onto the carport and unhooked it. I laid a 4-foot level on the floor of the camper and I used a jack under the frame, on the side of the Hi-Lo near the wheels, to raise it just a bit to make it level side to side. I used the tongue jack to level it front to back.

When the 4-foot level on the floor of the camper showed level in both directions, and after double-checking that the top of the Hi-Lo was all the way down, I installed the levels.

I put them on in the same place that I'd seen them on other campers. I put one on the lower curbside near the front. This one would be for front to rear leveling. I put the other one near the front on the curb side. This one would be for side-to-side leveling.

Since the camper was level I installed both gauges so that the bubble was center. The screw holes were a bit loose so I put some caulk on the back of the levels to help stabilize them and to prevent any water from finding its way into the screw holes. Stick on levels might have been a better choice.

I figure to use the side to side gauge (the one on the front) when parking the trailer on the camp site, if the gauge shows low on one side I'll pull up, lay a block on the ground and back up onto it, repeat process until the trailer is close to level side to side.

After unhooking the camper I'll use the tongue jack to level the trailer front to back using the level on the curb side of the camper.