Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

New Member Intros Say Hello! Tell us a little about yourself and your camper; we're fairly friendly :)

Old 07-26-2017, 04:14 PM   #1

Question To buy and remodel or not

I'm glad I found this forum. I Love the HiLo concept and wish it were more wide spread so there were more options of used ones out there. I've done enough house remodeling (I'm not a pro, but my dad was) that I know my style of remodeling well. I don't like band-aids, duct tape, etc. I will gut this thing rather than patch over. By gut I mean try to get the bad stuff out before starting a rebuild. I am wary a bit, however, that rebuilding may be a lot more difficult than I realize!

I'm looking at a mid 1980s model funlite (21') that needs quite a lot of work. The owner dropped it off for the day for us to look at. I've posted some of the pictures here:

https://photos.app.goo.gl/Lvnw4cWMdnPsJPxq2

It raises and lowers fine, but there is a lot of water damage. The current owner says he's fixed the leaks (hoping so), but lots of delamination in the ceiling and walls. Without tearing off some of the ceiling and walls it is hard to tell if the bones are in good shape or not. This is in a very dry part of the US so even with water damage this may have dried out fairly well. However, I can smell musty stuff in some of the delaminated ceiling panels.

Fridge doesn't work, toilet was unhooked when the current owner put on some new faux wood product on the floor. Don't know if the heater works or not. Many lights work, but a few don't. A few patches on the outside. Tires okay, but I'd replace them before a long trip. Surprisingly to me the underside OSB looks like it is good condition for the age. It does worry me that it is exposed OSB, however.