Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

New Member Intros Say Hello! Tell us a little about yourself and your camper; we're fairly friendly :)

Old 03-24-2017, 12:29 PM   #1

Default Tucsonpd

Hello,I am new to this group. I am going to be picking up a 2006, 2706T right after labor day. I have already paid for it. it is at Teds RV in Paynesville Minnesota. I have had class A motor home and a 5th wheel. I am new to Hi Lo. They were a HI LO dealer, and have inspected it. I am pulling it with a Nissan Titan. I am trying to get some information before we drive up and pick it up. this Forum has a lot of good information. We are planning on being a few months on the way back to Tucson.

tucsonpd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2017, 01:41 PM   #2
Site Team

Hi, tusconpd - welcome to the forum! I lived in Tucson too, until a bit over 4 years ago. Moved to Pine to get away from the summer heat and to be among trees.

Your Nissan Titan is essentially equivalent to my F150, in terms of load capability and trailer pulling weight. As such, you are very close to being maxed out, I think, especially in the truck axle weight limits if you tow a 27 ft trailer. You'd be better off with a Super Duty class truck.

The reason I say this is because of the tongue weight of the trailer you are buying. I just checked a HiLo brochure and the UVW of that trailer is 4650# and the GVWR is 6500#. Since it probably has quite a bit of "optional equipment" I'm guessing it will be closer to the 6500 figure. So, the tongue weight will probably be in the 550-950# range, and you WILL need a Weight Distributing Hitch (WDH) to go along with it. The total weight of that hitch, about 100#, I'm guessing will also add to your axle loading. Your truck is a 1/2 ton class vehicle, so that leaves no leftover room for passengers and other packed things you will need for a camping trip.