Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Hi-Lo camper travel trailer forum > Trading Post > Hi-Lo's wanted
Click Here to Login
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

Hi-Lo's wanted Looking for a Hi-Lo? Tell us what you want.

Old 04-24-2020, 11:25 AM   #1

Default Newbie here, don't own one yet. Which Manuf. is best?

Looking to buy but don't know names of other maker's & models of the "Hi-lo" type. Need input, please. Since I've never RV'ed (if you don't count 20 years in the USMC & Army) I'd like to start off in a fugal manner. $5k to 8K used. I reside in Lower Alabama but would drive as far as necessary to purchase.

Chaplain King is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2020, 02:29 PM   #2
Site Team

Hi, King - Welcome to the forum. I'm retired Air Force, so I consider you a Brother. I moved your post to the HiLos Wanted section because that's what you're interested in.

First, HiLo trailers are made by only ONE manufacturer, who is now out of business (I'm discounting the one who tried to revive it but doesn't seem to be still trying to do so). So, to get a HiLo, you are basically looking at the "used" market.

As far as models go, have a look at the various HiLo brochures here: https://www.hilotrailerforum.com/f52/ You'll see there are quite a few models. The smaller ones (15-19 ft) can be towed by a 1/2 ton pickup. Larger ones would be better towed with a 3/4 ton pickup. What kind of tow vehicle do you have?

- Jack

Old 04-24-2020, 03:36 PM   #3

Hello J&J, thanks for moving my query and the feedback. I came to believe, Hi-Lo, TowLite, and the 1964 voyager I saw on this site were from different manufactures. So are there other similar makers out there. I'm wondering why I see so many folks commenting on re-sealing the roof.