Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Hi-Lo camper travel trailer forum > Hi-Lo Community Forums > General Hi-Lo camper discussion
Click Here to Login
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

General Hi-Lo camper discussion The perfect place to discuss your Hi-Lo camper

Old 08-11-2012, 09:42 PM   #1

Default Aquired a 1974? Hi-Lo from father in law-need help

Hello, all! Im completely new to the Hi-Lo scene(i didnt even know such a thing existed)and i have a couple of questions. First, the pump seems to work just fine, however, it seems to be stuck in the up position. I cant get it to raise in order to unlock it and lower it. I under stand theres a manual method to operate it, but its not completely obvious and i cant figure it out. Secondly, i had to add about 2 1/2 qts of ATF(i work for a Mobil distributor so fluids aren't an issue), so i was wondering if maybe there is some air in the system and if so, is there a way to bleed it out? And lastly, is there a better fluid that can be used? AW 32? AW 46? Maybe universal tractor fluid? I wouldnt think there would be an issue seeing as how theyre all hydraulic fluids and the only real differance i can see is viscosity and the additive package each fluid contains. I greatly appreciate any help. I cant get this thing to go down!

Shooff82 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2012, 10:10 PM   #2

Usually, the pump is a little low on fluid and the top can't lift high enough to unbind the safety release. How did you know 2 1/2 guarts of ATF was enough? What I'm getting at is that you still may not have enough fluid in there but if you have added that much, there is definitely a leak somewhere. You are pulling the safety release cable while trying to lower the unit right?

Also, by adding that much fluid, you may have overfilled the resevoir and it will come gushing out when you get thing to lower finally.