Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

General Hi-Lo camper discussion The perfect place to discuss your Hi-Lo camper

Old 02-15-2016, 01:38 PM   #21

Well, I find the fuse block under the sink in the bathroom. All the fuses were good but that's not saying anything due to the guy before good of changed them out to no avail. Look at the picture. They look discolored at the connection like they got moisture to them. Also the ones I the far left that I've already pulled out did look like they tranfered some flash burn to the plastic. I know I need to start at the source and work my way to the fuse box first to possible not fix something that will just get re-fried. But if I do need to replace this fuse block is it much of problem? I need to test the converter but I'm not very good with a meter.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 20160215_131539.jpg (187.5 KB, 24 views)
File Type: jpg 20160215_131518.jpg (191.4 KB, 24 views)

motorpig2342 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2016, 05:09 PM   #22
Site Team

It appears, to me, that there is one single input to the fuse block and that is the single large gauge red wire that attaches to the right side in the upper picture. If you put your multimeter in the DC volts range (possibly on a 20V setting, since you're looking for 12V), and then probe the attachment screw for that wire with the positive probe while the negative probe is connected to a ground (you may need to run a jumper wire to the negative terminal of the battery for that) you SHOULD read 12+ volts there. If not, and if you don't get 12+V probing anywhere else on that block, your problem is in the feed to the block.

I don't really think the discoloration is significant, unless the electrical connections are "rusty", which would mean they need cleaning. You can always clean anything that is discolored though.