Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

General Hi-Lo camper discussion The perfect place to discuss your Hi-Lo camper

Old 09-22-2014, 12:19 PM   #1

Default Water Heater uh oh

I just picked up my 2010 1810h. So far love the trailer but I think I may have messed up and need to know how to fix it. I plugged the trailer into the power at my parent's house. I did not have 30 amp but instead standard house power. I tried to run the water heater while I had the air conditioner running. This was all on electric as I did not have the propane tracks filed yet. The water heater would not turn on. Could I have blown the breaker/fuse in the water heater because of low amp. If so do you know if the water heater is a breaker or a fuse. Total newbie here. I know how to tell if a breaker is blown but how do you tell on a fuse. I would like to have this sorted out for my first camping trip next weekend where I will have 30 amp

JoyNoelle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2014, 12:46 PM   #2

Did you turn on the water heater without it being filed? If you did the element would be fried almost immediately. There should be breaker on the power panel for the WH. There is no indicator light to show that the heater is on, at least on my WH, you just have to wait a while to see if there is warm water. The indicator light next to the WH electric switch is for the gas mode when it fails to light the burner. You would most likely pop a house breaker if the AC and WH were on at the same time.

2012 F150 4X4 SuperCrew EcoBoost w/Leer Cap
Reese WD Strait-Line Hitch
Amateur Radio K3EXU
RichR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2014, 12:49 PM   #3