Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

General Hi-Lo camper discussion The perfect place to discuss your Hi-Lo camper

Old 05-21-2010, 11:21 AM   #1

Default water tanks

hi im very new to this so i hope this q wont sound too dumb but ive seen where we should sanatize the tanks and flush them out. what is the best way to do this?
thanks,
Dan Rose,east tennessee

radrose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2010, 01:25 PM   #2

Default Water Tanks

We have been camping about 45+ years but new HiLo owners, When we purchase a different unit we place about one third of cup of purex into the water tank and fill the tank take a short drive and then drain it all out. Then fill with fresh water and then drain that out. The tank should be clean.

Jaybird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2010, 05:34 PM   #3

Assuming you have a 30 gallon tank like the rest of us, about 1/3 cup of plain bleach, no fragrance, is all you need. Put that into a larger container of water to dilute it some then pour that into the tank. Fill the tank and leave it stand for at least three hours. If you can smell the bleach when you run water from the faucet you have enough in it. Be sure to run the water through all of the system to clean that too. Too much bleach is not good for some of the plumbing. Empty and drain the tank at least once to get the bleach out.

Look here on the forum library under plumbing for instructions for sanitizing the water tank.
RichR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2010, 11:12 PM   #4

Quote:
Originally Posted by RichR View Post