Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Towing, Hitching and Tow Vehicles Discussions about tow vehicles, tow systems, hitching, leveling, jacks and more.

Old 01-12-2015, 12:43 PM   #1

Default Grand Caravan Capability

Newbie here. I have a 2014 Grand Caravan that is rated around 3500 pounds towing. Would this handle a 17T Hi-Lo over all kinds of terrain? A 15T would probably work for us, but they are hard to find.
Thanks for any comments or suggestions.
Don

donreby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2015, 01:47 PM   #2

This doesn't address the towing capacity, rather the cargo capacity:

Just speculating here ... but a van is typically carrying with 4-6 people, pets, fuel and cargo. Perhaps overhead tele's for the kids; meaning they are very heavy to start with.

For stability, your camper needs 15% (just guessing 300 pounds) of its weight on the bumper hitch, and would count against your allowable cargo weight after the mentioned people, pets,etc. My guess is that you'll come up short ... if so then you'll be overloaded/unsafe.

I could be mistaken as I'm not aware of your vans specs nor the camper you're considering.

Wrascal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2015, 02:00 PM   #3

According to Edmunds your Weights and Capacities are:

MAXIMUM TOWING CAPACITY 3600 lbs.
MAXIMUM PAYLOAD 1540 lbs.

I don't know if that's for a dressed up van or the stripper version, but obviously the more creature comforts the greater the base weight, which will eat up the payload.

So people, their belongings, food, pets, AND gasoline fuel PLUS weight on the trailer tongue can not exceed 1540 pounds. That's not much.
Old 01-12-2015, 02:56 PM   #4

According to this earlier posting : http://www.hilotrailerforum.com/f52/...-2004-hi-lo-6/

it claims the 17T weighs 2700 pounds dry, with cargo maxing out at 3800.
For the 15T I'm finding weights of 2100 dry and 3000 max loaded.