Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Off Topic Lounge For friendly, professional, informal exchange of non Hi-Lo topics. No politics or religion topics please.

Old 07-07-2012, 06:51 PM   #1
sam

Default Criteria for painting fiberglass.

We have a 1990 25ft Classic HiLo. When I look at the upper half exterior I see some spider cracks(probably from flexing.) No holes or gouges. These are at the corners. Some black shows through the fiberglass on close inspection. I use gell gloss each year and it gives it a nice shine. How do you determine when it needs a paint job? Is this something a do it your selfer can do? I don't have any big barn to work on this to keep it free from dirt. I've looked at other HiLo of the same vintage and the fiberglass looks the same. I'm a real novice when it comes to body work. Any thoughts?

sam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2012, 11:11 AM   #2

Sam

I am certainly no expert on the fiberglass paneling used on the exteriors of RVs. That said- I would not attempt a DYI painting project on any vehicle that I was concerned about final appearance on without a relatively sophisticated home painting booth and appropriate equipment and experience. Ditto on decals- which are meant to be replaced if anything, and not painted over. A body shop/paint shop is where I would have it done.

In the meantime- my experience is that the best way to go is with cleaning products and polishers designed to remove oxidation and then to prevent further degradation from sun and airborne pollutants. Seems you have been doing that up till now.

Rick

2010 Nissan Titan king cab SE
4x4
hilltool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2012, 12:22 PM   #3
sam

Default Painting fiberglass

The bottom line is it worth the price given the age of the RV? I immagine it would cost thousands of dollars to have a collision shop do this.
Old 07-08-2012, 01:01 PM   #4

Sam