Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Electrical Systems, Charging and Solar Electrical components and wiring, batteries, charging systems, generators and solar topics.

Old 01-21-2013, 04:47 PM   #1

Default Why isn't the battery charging?

As I said in another recent post I am new to this.

I bought the hilo mojo this spring. The battery was charged and things worked. I used it on a camping trip. No problem with having lights (the only thing I used and the water pump worked - turned it on by accident). Some kids charged their phone off of it (sigh teens can't live without their phones - went with another family) as well. Still had juice when we came back home.

I just plugged the trailer into the house for 24 hours and while everything worked with it plugged in, nothing works with it unplugged.

Have I missed some sort of adjustment or setting I need to make in order to charge the battery off of my house?

They did not make a manual for this trailer so I am guessing things are similar to the 2009 one in the library someone uploaded.

This trailer has 3 way fridge, AC, water pump, propane heater, lights. I did install an electric brake on my car for it. The wire for the break away brake got rubbed through (thus 'cut') by dragging on the road (I had one chain too low as it turns out - didn't realize that at the time) on the way home from the camping trip which isn't fixed yet.

Don't want to drag it to the RV place as they charge $120 an hour if I can figure out what the problem is. Battery is 2009. Held a charge for a long time initially.

Thanks,
Carolyn

carolynb3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 05:18 PM   #2