Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×
 
 


General Hi-Lo camper discussion The perfect place to discuss your Hi-Lo camper
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 04-04-2011, 12:16 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 10
Question Duo Therm Dometic Blows the breaker on restart

At about half the campgrounds I stay at the circuit breaker at the inverter of the HI - LO blows on re start of the a/c compressor. The way I get it to stay reset is to point a small portable electric fan right at the breaker. It is a 30/20 breaker (30 amp main 20 amp a/c). The HI - LO is a 2009 15 ft model. I am thinking maybe replace the breaker with a new 30/20? OR replace it with a straight 30? The a/c should only draw 12 amps. At some parks the breaker never blows at all. Any thoughts or ideas would be greatly appreciated.
__________________

KF6GZH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2011, 01:13 PM   #2
Moderator
 
RichR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: NW PA
Posts: 3,374
Default

Have you checked the voltage coming into the Hi-lo when you have had the breaker trip? Check it with no load and when the A/C is running. If it is below 110 volts without load it could cause the A/C to have trouble starting. Your A/C may have a starting capacitor that is bad, not all have them but they can be added. The breaker could be suffering from old age or are over sensitive, they do that sometimes. Being only a couple of years old I would rule out the old age. Replace it with the same amperage that is there now for safety.

That was my collection of random thoughts. Maybe one of them is correct.
__________________

__________________
My Great Wife Joyce
2018 Jayco Jay Flight 21QB
Formerly owned 1705T and 2310H
2012 F150 4X4 SuperCrew EcoBoost w/Leer Cap
Reese WD Strait-Line Hitch
Amateur Radio K3EXU
RichR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2011, 06:17 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Ohio North Coast
Posts: 843
Post

I agree with Rich about the electrical supply from the campground. Some campgrounds have their receptacles wired wrong in the pedistal or run too many hookups on one circuit. I use an inexpensive outlet checker on the plug prior to plugging my cord in. It uses a series of lights to tell whether the plug is ok. I have a voltage meter plugged into an outlet inside the trailer that tells me at a glance whether the voltage is normal or low coming into the trailer. You might be a candidate for having a "hard start" capacitor installed on your a/c. This has been discussed several times on this forum. Hope this helps.

Bob
__________________
2014 FR Heritage Glen 282RK
2013 F250 HD 6.7L Diesel
Formerly Owned: 1995 22D Fun Chaser & 2901L Classic
retiredcamper47 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2011, 06:24 PM   #4
Moderator
 
RichR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: NW PA
Posts: 3,374
Default

You didn't mention it but I assume you were plugged straight in to a 30 amp receptacle at the campgrounds and not using an adapter to a 20 amp receptacle.
__________________
My Great Wife Joyce
2018 Jayco Jay Flight 21QB
Formerly owned 1705T and 2310H
2012 F150 4X4 SuperCrew EcoBoost w/Leer Cap
Reese WD Strait-Line Hitch
Amateur Radio K3EXU
RichR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2011, 02:31 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 10
Default 30 amp

I was plugged right in to the 30 amp outlet with no adapter. That is a good idea to check the voltage load/no load. I had a voltmeter but did not think to check the voltage. I will do that next time. Thanks for your help. I will buy a new 30/20 breaker and try it too.
KF6GZH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2011, 02:43 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
PopRichie77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Quakertown, PA
Posts: 1,074
Send a message via AIM to PopRichie77
Default

Be sure the main shore wire is connected to the 30 amp breaker and the AirC is connected to the 20 amp breaker. We had the same problem with our 95T when we got it, upon checking I found the wires were reversed, was done at factory as I had a hard time to change as the wires were just long enough to fit on the wrong breakers. After switching the wires we had no further problem.
PopRichie77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2011, 07:23 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 10
Default

Well the a/c only goes into one outlet, and thats the breaker that blows. (its the 30A main 20a a/c one) Hey how do these breakers come out? I want to try a new one.
KF6GZH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2011, 07:46 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
PopRichie77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Quakertown, PA
Posts: 1,074
Send a message via AIM to PopRichie77
Default

If it is similar to my 2209, you have to use a screw driver and remove the plastic cover and the metal cover plate.













if
PopRichie77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2011, 11:23 AM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 10
Default

I have the cover off. and I see the breakers, do they snap in place? just pry it out with a screwdriver?
KF6GZH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2011, 11:50 AM   #10
Moderator
 
RichR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: NW PA
Posts: 3,374
Default

Most breakers snap in and out. If you don't see any screws other than where the wire connects it is probably a snap in. They usually hook over a rail and the back/bottom snaps in to the bus bar. There are a couple different types but they work basically the same.
__________________
My Great Wife Joyce
2018 Jayco Jay Flight 21QB
Formerly owned 1705T and 2310H
2012 F150 4X4 SuperCrew EcoBoost w/Leer Cap
Reese WD Strait-Line Hitch
Amateur Radio K3EXU
RichR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2011, 02:45 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
JMDoering's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Idaho
Posts: 586
Default

Recommend you have the original breaker in hand when you go looking for a replacement. These things do not have a universal design, light light bulbs, and not all hardware suppliers carry all brands of breakers. They are good at supporting the breaker boxes they sell, and not good with other brands.

I've found a dedicated electrical supplier will have the best variety of breaker brands.... but even then, not always.

Good luck,
Jim
__________________
1967 17' Hi-Lo Bon Voyage (1967-1969)
1969 19' Hi-Lo Bon Voyage (1969-2011)
2004 27' Hi-Lo TowLite (2010-present)
2015 Chevy Tahoe LTZ
JMDoering is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2011, 04:15 PM   #12
Moderator
 
RichR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: NW PA
Posts: 3,374
Default

Good idea Jim. Having helped my friend in a hardware store I learned that having the part to be replaced brought in for comparison was a big help. It also saved the customer time and money.
__________________

__________________
My Great Wife Joyce
2018 Jayco Jay Flight 21QB
Formerly owned 1705T and 2310H
2012 F150 4X4 SuperCrew EcoBoost w/Leer Cap
Reese WD Strait-Line Hitch
Amateur Radio K3EXU
RichR is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
a/c, air conditioner, blow, breaker, circuit

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Hi-Lo Trailers Worldwide or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
HiLoTrailerForum.com Copyright 2010
×