Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

General Hi-Lo camper discussion The perfect place to discuss your Hi-Lo camper

Old 12-14-2021, 07:27 AM   #1

Default Final steps hydraulic lift repairs

I've removed the cylinder, had it to the shop, and now am in the final stages of the repair. Boy, was it ever fun to 1. get that cylinder out and 2. to put it and all the parts back in properly.

Not being a hydraulics mechanic, I am hesitant to proceed beyond my current, nearly-ready point in the repair. I am sure there are many folks here with experience repairing hydraulic cylinders on trucks or farm/construction equipment who can assure me my concerns are overblown (or not).

I am puzzled though as to how the air in the cylinder will get out once I turn on the pump to raise the top. The fluid pressure feed the cylinder enters the cylinder midway up the side, not at/near the top. I can imagine that if near the top, the air could get worked out through raising and lowering, but on the side (at the 3 o'clock position, viewed from one end, if you will) it seems that air would always be trapped above the level of the inlet.

Common sense and basic physics suggest that the cylinder should be full of Dexron fluid when operating. Does the trapped air work its way out through the seal on the piston? Would that not damage the seal? Should I try to put as much Dexron into the cylinder before closing it off and putting pressure to it? (Oh boy, that sounds like it could be not especially easy and also messy.)

Lvnv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2021, 10:02 AM   #2
Site Team