Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Hi-Lo camper travel trailer forum > Hi-Lo Tech > General Repairs, Modifications, Tips and tricks
Click Here to Login
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

General Repairs, Modifications, Tips and tricks Show off your modifications, share a great idea, ask a question!

Old 09-17-2023, 02:15 PM   #1

Default Aluminum roof availability?

Hello all, I am new to the high low trailer bunch and my buddy and I each picked one up, is a 1990, and mine 1989. I have an aluminum roof and he had dry rot in his roof which was a rubber membrane. Is there a way to get a hold of the metal roof to retrofit his unit with the same aluminum roof I have? We both have the fun Chaser 24 units. The membrane replacement is kicking our butt and if we can locate aluminum and it's not got awful expensive, maybe worth going that route instead of messing with this rubber. Anyone have any ideas?

Arrowthwr67 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2023, 11:28 AM   #2

Found option for replacement. It would be about 1700.00 for the supplies if I install myself. We will attempt another membrane install. My buddy messed it up doing it alone! 500 dollar mistake!

Arrowthwr67 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2023, 08:10 PM   #3
sam

Default Roof repairs/replacement.

My first HiLo had a rubber roof. Just caught the start of a leak. Used a 25ft. patch kit. The HiLo i have now has a metal roof. I prefer the rubber roof. I am sure you tube has a tutorial on how to replace a rubber roof. Best of luck with your repairs.
sam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2023, 10:13 AM   #4

Default Roof overlay

Hey gang, this is Rob from JandR Trailer Repair.... saw this post and had to put this up. Don't waste your money on all that rubber roofing crap... and I say that lightly.