Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

New Member Intros Say Hello! Tell us a little about yourself and your camper; we're fairly friendly :)

Old 04-13-2020, 09:04 PM   #1

Default Need help with vin #

I am new to the hi-lo camper but love the look and solidity. The previous owner lost the title and I can't find serial #. I've looked in every cabinet door, outside and inside. All I find is a 5 digit # on the tongue. By the floor plans it appears to be a 1978 or 1979. Any help would be appreciated thank you.

Crazydemon6977 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2020, 11:16 PM   #2
Site Team

If you can't find the VIN, I wonder if it's possible to get a duplicate title from the State where it was registered. I had to get a duplicate title from Arizona for a previous truck I owned when the title got lost somehow in the mail, during the change of ownership when I bought it. And, if the trailer was licensed, isn't the VIN on the registration?

I'm just thinking out loud, maybe this is not possible where you live.

- Jack

Old 04-15-2020, 08:26 PM   #3

JackandJanet That would work except the guy never registered it and threw away the previous owners paperwork
Old 04-15-2020, 11:19 PM   #4
Site Team

If you can't find the VIN (I've seen a few posts in this forum that it MIGHT be stamped somewhere on the tongue), you might be able to do a few mods to it and register it as a "homebuilt". Treeclimber, one of the other mods here said that's possible in Florida (where he lives). I think he's faced with a similar situation on a trailer he's rebuilding.