Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Hi-Lo camper travel trailer forum > Hi-Lo Community Forums > General Hi-Lo camper discussion
Click Here to Login
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

General Hi-Lo camper discussion The perfect place to discuss your Hi-Lo camper

Old 03-05-2024, 08:10 AM   #1
Lb7

Default The camper has fallen 😮

Hi all! Have you ever had to deal with the top half falling over or replacing the internal belts for lifting and lowering? I’m new to the Hi-Lo world (less than a year) and while out of town in December my camper didn’t get lowered all the way, and was about 2 inches from the lowered position, and the top half ended up falling down to the frame! Minimal damage from the inside is done, but now I need to figure out how to lift it up back on the internal shelf and fix the belt/mechanism to higher and lower it. I imagine I should get some 8 foot jacks and a bunch of hands to help - but if anyone has experience in this and would be so kind to share what worked well for them, I welcome that! I’m close to Asheville, so if a professional is needed and you know anyone, that’s welcomed too. Hoping to have my little home back soon! Thank you - LB

Lb7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2024, 09:10 AM   #2
Site Team

Lb7 -Hi and welcome! Sorry to hear about your problem but I'm confused.

There are no "belts" in a HiLo. The top is raised and lowered using metal cables that are connected to a hydraulic ram that is moved by a hydraulic pump that is normally found in the tongue of the trailer. There's also no "internal shelf" in a HiLo.

What kind of trailer do you have?

- Jack

Old 03-05-2024, 10:52 AM   #3
Lb7